Online Registration for 2020-2021

Online Registration (OLR) for the 2020-2021 school year is now open.  You will need access to a desktop or laptop computer and your Infinite Campus username and password.  Then, use this OLR Informational Packet to complete the process.  Due to the school building being closed, we ask that you send your OLR confirmation # and proof of residence to a new email address:  [email protected] to keep the process going.  

Don’t have access to a desktop or laptop?  OLR does not work on smart phones/iPhones or tablets/iPads.  When the school building is open again, we have computers you can use.  Stay tuned for more information.  Your child will still have a seat for the 2020-2021 school year!

Forgot your Infinite Campus username or password?  Send an email to [email protected] or call (702) 799-5760 to request your credentials.  We will check for email addresses and/or phone numbers that match our records before giving out usernames and passwords.

OLR Informational Packet

2019-2020 Yearbooks For Sale

We are excited to offer 2019-2020 yearbooks for sale online at this time!  Each yearbook will cost $25.  Go to LWJES.picaboo.com to place your order by May 1, 2020.  While there will not be a love lines section this year, online ordering provides the opportunity for each yearbook purchased to add FOUR FREE PAGES OF PERSONAL PHOTOS!  Just follow the steps online to personalize your yearbook for free and be sure to complete the pages by May 1, 2020.​  We will share more information about yearbook distribution at a later time.

Yearbook Flyer

April 2020 Citizenship Skill & Habits of Mind

Our April citizenship skill is FRIENDSHIP. Our definition for friendship is: Spending time with people who encourage each other to be their best.

Habit of Mind #1: Finding Humor

It is important to have a whimsical frame of mind.  We want our student to acquire the characteristic of being creative problem solvers. We need students to be able to distinguish between situations of human frailty and fallibility which are in need of compassion and those which are truly funny.

Habit of Mind #2: Thinking Interdependently

Working in groups requires the ability to justify ideas and to test the feasibility of solution strategies on others. It also requires the development of a willingness and openness to accept the feedback from a critical friend. Through this interaction the group and the individual continue to grow.

Message to Families & Spring Break Information (4/6-13/2020)

We hope this message finds you and your family doing well!

For families who are visiting CCSD food and learning resource distribution sites, please be advised that the hours for these sites are changing to 9 a.m. to noon weekdays starting on Monday, April 6th.  Learning resource packets will not be distributed the week of April 6th and will be available again the following week.  The closest site to LWJES remains Silverado High School.

April 6th through April 13th is spring break for teachers.  Please know that teachers may not be available during this time and they will respond to questions and requests beginning again on Tuesday, April 14th. 

We all appreciate your engagement in learning from home during these past few weeks, and we look forward to continuing to work with you!  We understand there are many challenges, and we know our families are doing everything they can to keep everyone healthy, cared for, and learning.

Stay Home For Nevada, stay well, and many thanks to everyone in our community who is out there working on the front lines to care for all of us in Las Vegas during these challenging times!

Thank you,

LWJES Faculty

Meal Service Information – Effective April 6, 2020

Students have access to breakfast and lunch during the school closure. Visit ccsd.net for a list of meal service locations and information about the service. The closest location for meal service to our school is at Silverado High School, 1650 Silver Hawk Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89123. Sites are open weekdays from 9:00 a.m. to noon.

School Closed Through April 30, 2020

Dear LWJES Families,

Many of you have already heard that all Clark County School District schools have extended the closure through April 30, 2020.  The previous information about closure was through April 16th.  We appreciate your flexibility and commitment to education during these challenging times.  At this time, we do not have additional details about what will happen after the school closure ends.  As information becomes available, we will continue to share it with you.  For the most recent information, please visit CCSD’s website at www.ccsd.net.  You can also visit our school’s website at www.LWJES.vegas for additional information and resources.  We greatly miss working with everyone on campus, and we hope all our families are well.  Be safe and we look forward to continuing to work with you during this time of school closure.

Thank you,

LWJES Faculty

FREE WEBINAR: Positive and Productive Childcare While the Kids Are Not in School

Families, please consider attending this free webinar.
Presented by Randy Sprick

As parents, there are times our children drive us crazy! In this time of rapid change and, for most of us, some kind of confinement at home, this can be especially true. Getting through the day can become tense, and we can be unsure about how to discipline our children.
 
Join us for this free web-based meeting with Randy Sprick. Randy is a parent (and yes, sometimes his children drive him crazy), a grandparent, and a world leader in effective behavior management. His presentation will cover things you can do to help your children learn to behave better and become more independent and responsible. Learn how and when to use consequences for misbehavior
Learn how and when to use praise
Learn to make daily life more pleasant and relaxed around the house
You will learn that you are already doing many things exactly right and add strategies for making things better!  Come and join us for a fun and entertaining session.

April 1, 4 pm ET (3 pm CT, 2 pm MT, 1 pm PT)
April 8, 2 pm ET (1 pm CT, 12 pm MT, 11 am PT)
April 8, 8 pm ET (7 pm CT, 6 pm MT, 5 pm PT)

Randy Sprick is the founder of Safe & Civil Schools, an educational consulting company based in Eugene, Oregon. Each year, he presents practical and entertaining workshops to teachers and administrators throughout the United States and Canada.
Much of his work involves helping teachers, principals, and other staff set up schools and classrooms that encourage student responsibility and motivation, while humanely and effectively helping misbehaving students learn to behave in more responsible ways.

Covid-19 Answers for Students

For those families who would like a guide for talking to your students about the Covid-19 virus, please consider this resource provided by Ms. Berc, our school psychologists. Click—->HERE

CARE Friday

After 2 full weeks of online learning we are encouraging our community to make Fridays, “CARE Fridays”. In a nutshell, this will be a day of catching-up and taking care of your family. You can use the ideas shared below, or come up with your own!

Do some FUN offline activities as a family!! We hope that all our students, families, community, and teachers will take time to take care of themselves.